Latest News

State Teams Named For 2020 Interstates Championship


Jett Kenny, Tiarrn Raymond Queensland Captains for Interstate and Josh Papalii Origin prop, the common theme was winning the trophy back from NSW.  Image Supplied.  

The finest surf lifesavers from around the country will line up for their states in the upcoming Surf Life Saving Interstates Championship at Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast on Friday January 24.  

With state pride on the line, the Interstates Championship sees surf lifesavers compete for their states in a range of events both on the beach and in the ocean.

Over one day of competition, individuals compete for points that accumulate towards their states final score with the winning team taking home the prestigious Interstates Championship trophy.

New South Wales have taken out the Interstate Championships for the past two years just head of the Queensland Cyclones, who will be in top contention to secure the trophy ahead of their over the border rivals.

SLSA National Sport Manager Wayne Druery said the Interstates provides up-and-comers with an opportunity to test their lifesaving and surf skills against some of Australia’s top surf lifesavers.

“The Interstates are a great opportunity for both youth and open athletes to pull on their state caps and showcase their lifesaving skills against some of the toughest competitors in the country,” he said.

“State rivalry is fierce, and the Interstates is like the state-of-origin of surf lifesaving as each team fights for dominance and the coveted trophy.” As the official destination for an Australia Day long weekend of surf sports, the Sunshine Coast will play host to both the Interstates on Friday 24 January and the inaugural Iron X event at Mooloolaba on Monday 27 January.

“We’re really excited to be back on the Sunshine Coast for an action packed weekend of surf sports,” Druery said.

“Alexandra Headland SLSC and Mooloolaba SLSC are great clubs and fantastic locations with the Sunshine Coast drawing crowds from all over Australia. There will be something for everyone to watch come the Australia Day long weekend.”

The 2020 Interstates Championship will be livestreamed from 8:00am AEST via SLSA’s Facebook page.

2020 Interstates Championship Events
- IronMan/IronWoman
- Board
- Surf Ski
- Surf Race
- Rescue Tube Race
- Board Rescue Race
- Mixed Surf Teams

- Mixed Surf Ski Relay
- Mixed Board Relay
- Taplin Relay
- Beach Flags
- Beach Relay
- Beach Sprint

14 January 2020

14 January 2020
2020 Intertstates Championship Teams
State Open Name Youth Name
NSW Open Naomi Scott Youth Nicola Owen
NSW Open Jemma Smith Youth Emily Doyle
NSW Open Britney Pierce Youth Jasmine Locke
NSW Open Alexandra Rampoldi Youth Bella Williams
NSW Open Isabellah Walker Youth Grace Hewitt
NSW Open Lizzie Welborn Youth Leah Rampoldi
NSW Open Jamee Smith Youth Noah Havard
NSW Open Daniel Collins Youth Finn Askew
NSW Open Sam Zustovich Youth Kye Taylor
NSW Open Mitchell Trim Youth Zach Morris
NSW Open Max Brooks Youth Jack Bridges
NSW Open Jackson Borg Youth Ace Haslam
NSW Country Open Chloe Jones Youth Maisie Miller
NSW Country Open Taylah Allen Youth Olissa Onley
NSW Country Open Anthea Warne Youth Lily O'Sullivan
NSW Country Open Sofie Boyd Youth Kirra Dale
NSW Country Open Hayley Smith Youth Grace Eady
NSW Country Open Cahrizma MacDonald-cass Youth Claire Van Kampen
NSW Country Open Bailey Copeland Youth Nicholas Bulloch
NSW Country Open Kai Onley Youth Joseph Warne
NSW Country Open Angus Macphail Youth Liam Worling
NSW Country Open Brock Scrivener Youth Jayden Allen
NSW Country Open Cody Bell Youth Nathan Mackenzie
NSW Country Open Scott McCartney Youth Tyler Sweetman
QLD Open Olivia Heaton Youth Tayla Halliday
QLD Open Tiarrn Raymond Youth Charlotte Cross
QLD Open Hannah Scully Youth Brodee Trinca
QLD Open Lucinda Kelly Youth Tiarnee Massie
QLD Open Lani Pallister Youth Elli Halliday
QLD Open Nicole Kay Youth Natalie Clucas
QLD Open Tanyn Lyndon Youth Adam Palmer
QLD Open Ky Kinsela Youth Joseph McMenamin
QLD Open Corey Fletcher Youth Beau Meehan
QLD Open Jett Kenny Youth Kaan Karadag
QLD Open Cooper Williams Youth Sam Frost
QLD Open Sam Ross Youth Kai Thompson

14 January 2020
WA Open Soraya Lee Youth Nikita Fredonnet
WA Open Ceris Humble Youth Sophie Lloyd
WA Open Ruby Warne Youth Ella Packer
WA Open Jazmin Shipway-Carr Youth Harriet Brown
WA Open Jacqueline Lord Youth Sydney Rafferty
WA Open Courtney Franz Youth Amy Breman
WA Open Max Anderson Youth Matthew Colliss
WA Open Wesley Gould Youth Will Savage
WA Open Jake Smith Youth Charlie Hewitt
WA Open Daniel Humble Youth Patrick Eley
WA Open Jackson Symonds Youth Cristian Sayers
WA Open Charlie Rigby Youth Tyson Cook
VIC Open Hannah Schmdit Youth Grace Harris
VIC Open Kira Kinsey Youth Mia Spencer
VIC Open Mackenzie Hooper Youth Reidel Smith
VIC Open Madeleine Hurst Youth Rose Bentley
VIC Open Courtney Bryant Youth Kyalla Happ
VIC Open DRAFT PICK Youth Maison Degg
VIC Open Drew Green Youth Archie Vernon
VIC Open Jesse Coulson Youth Henry Van Til
VIC Open Josh Patterson Youth Iestyn Knapp
VIC Open Matt Hardiman Youth Thomas Regan
VIC Open Saxon Beale Youth Tim Hannan
VIC Open Shane Ryan Youth Brayden Casamento
SA Open Hayley Openshaw Youth Cloe Griffiths
SA Open Caitriona O’Leary Youth Leilani Snell
SA Open Annabel Lampard Youth Charlotte Dolan
SA Open Stella Benger Youth Kayla Roe
SA Open DRAFT PICK Youth Natasha Bedford
SA Open DRAFT PICK Youth Teagan Richards
SA Open Calum Scrivens Youth Joseph McKinnon
SA Open Patrick Cobiac Youth Jesse Kneebone
SA Open Tom May Youth Lachlan Merchant
SA Open Matthew Zuill Youth Cooper Bristow
SA Open Thomas Welch Youth Jed Ffrench
SA Open Jayden Ellis Youth Xabian Cederblad

If you have information on something happening near you or wish to contact the newroom use this link